Thursday, January 7, 2016

How to Get your Real Estate License in Georgia

If you're planning on getting your real estate license, then congratulations - you've taken the first step to a prosperous, rewarding career. In order to become a real estate agent in Georgia, you need to follow several steps in order to ensure you are properly educated and certified to sell property in the state.

Below is a guide on how to get your real estate license in Georgia

#1 - Basic Educational Requirements

 To apply for a real estate license in Georgia, you must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma (or GED equivalent), must pass a background check, and you must be able to prove you are a legal citizen (via driver's license, military ID, passport, etc).

#2 - Complete Real Estate Education

Georgia is unlike many other states in that they offer three different real estate education options. You can either choose to:

  • Complete a 75-hour salesperson prelicense course
  • Complete 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours of course work in real estate, agency, or contract law from an accredited image. 
  • Provide proof of completion of 75 hours of prelicense coursework in another state or province in Canada.
#3 - Obtain a CGIC Report 

Within 60 days of taking the real estate exam, you must obtain a certified criminal history report, which will include information about any of your arrests, judgements, settlements, etc. If you have a previous conviction, you may need to submit additional paperwork and apply to get clearance to take the exam.

#4 - Prepare for the Exam

Once you complete your educational requirements, it's time to prepare for the exam. There are additional prep courses that are offered by many schools to help you further prepare for the exam, and these courses are optional, but tend to be very helpful.

Either way, you should adequately prepare to take the real estate exam however you need to do so.

#5 - Take the Exam

Now you're almost at the end of the road. Some things you should know:

  • You'll need two forms of ID to take the exam
  • You must get approval beforehand to take the exam, which is normally done automatically
  • You must pay the fee to take the exam, which is currently $115
  • You can schedule an appointment to take the exam up to two days in advance
  • The test is divided into two parts, and you must answer 75/100 on the first part to pass, and 39/52 on the second part to pass. 
#6 - Get Sponsored/Obtain Your License

Finally, in order to get your license, you need a broker to sign a statement that you will be working under them. Only after this is completed can you pay the $170 license fee if you request your license in the first 90 days after taking your license. If you wait longer, up to 12 months, the cost doubles to $340.

Once you complete this step, you are officially a Georgia real estate agent!

No comments:

Post a Comment